Her story begins

Phoebe Grace Duthie

Born March 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm to the two happiest parents in the world.

8lbs. 4oz. 20 inches long

I thought about writing a long post about about labor and the hours leading up to it, but honestly, the previous 3 sentences are the only things that really matter from that day.  For those that want to know though, I’ll give you the very abbreviated version of her birth.

We went to the hospital on Sunday night at 5pm and got sent home because I wasn’t in “real labor”.  The nurse told us we “may” have a baby sometime this week.

We went back 6 hours later because I was in so much pain and I was convinced that if  this wasn’t “real labor” and they sent me home again I was going to find a very tall bridge to jump from.

Luckily, they admitted me and by 4am I had an epidural, a smile on my face, and a snoring husband next to me!

Between 4am and 1pm the next day I had progressed from 4cm to 10cm and was ready to push.  Warren was truly a little kid in a candy store when they told us it was time!  45 minutes later, she was in our arms and all we could say was, “she’s so cute” over and over and over.

I’d try to write about my emotions in those minutes, but honestly, as cliche as it is to say, there are truly no words.  All I know is that I have no idea how we ever lived without her in our lives!

Welcome to the world Little Miss!!

 

One thought on “Her story begins

  1. Kelly Caldwell says:

    Lump in throat – smile on face!

Leave a Reply

