home.

It’s easy to feel like you’re on a long term vacation living in California.  Especially for a girl from Pennsylvania who still isn’t used to the constant sunny skies and being blessed with the Pacific Ocean out her front window.  A place feels even less like home when the first thing you do on your Christmas vacation is hop on a plane and go to your real “home”.  Prior to this year, that is what I’d always done, and loved every minute of it.

This year, there was a pang of sadness at the thought of not having snow out my front window on Christmas morning and packing up the car and heading to Erie (while begging my dad to drive slower in the snow) to head to my grandparent’s house.

But there is also such excitement surrounding this Christmas in the Duthie household.  It’s our very first Christmas together and our last one alone before we’re a family of 3.  Not traveling this Christmas means quality time spent together in our amazing city; that’s the best gift of all.  Life is hectic and we’re beginning to realize our days of ‘just the two of us’ are dwindling.  So we’ve already been enjoying the slower pace of this week; spending time together during the day, eating dinner together at night, and just reading on the couch.  We’re looking forward to creating some Christmas traditions of our own for our family.

So while Pennsylvania will always be home and I’ll miss everyone dearly this Christmas, I’m happy to say that I no longer feel like I’m on a long term vacation in San Diego.  I’m home.

So what does Christmas in San Diego look like?!?!  Here’s some pictures from this morning.  I went walking in a winter wonderland…..well, sort of!

We will be spending a lot of time doing this the next couple days 🙂

4 thoughts on “home.

  1. Kelly Caldwell says:

    So Happy that you are Happy!!!! Nothing ever remains the same and it’s your time to start your traditions. We look forward to enjoying those blue skies and sunshine with you in five days!!! Love you all!

  2. Courtney
    as I sit here reading your post it has brought tears to my eyes. We will miss you both this holiday. It is hard to let time go on but you know you have to let a new family begin and my time be over. Have a Merry Xmas and I know it will be a special New Year for the two of you
    Love Nana

  3. Casie says:

    It’s been 5 Christmases together for our family, and we still don’t have any set traditions of our own. And I know how you feel not being in Erie on Christmas Day…I still miss it every year we don’t make it. But hopefully one of these years we will settle into our own Christmas Day tradition. (I just wish people would quit moving; I wish everyone still lived in the same city; I wish life/Christmas was as easy as it was growing up…all of our family lived in the same place and we got to see them ALL for the holidays.) And we will miss you Saturday at Mommy and Daddy’s for Christmas Eve, but we are THRILLED to be joining you in “your” San Diego sun the day after Christmas. I’ve always been one to put all emphasis on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, but as I get older and family spreads out, I’m trying my hardest to embrace the Christmas “Season” and not just the day. So we will still spend some of our Christmas Season with you as well as ring in the new year! Can’t wait!!!

  4. You know I don’t cry easily…..and damnit….you have all made me cry reading these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I’m still at work!!!!!! what the hell!!!!! … :o) Even though we are all going to be in different places on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day I wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! ok I have to run to the girls room now before anyone I work with looks at me……

Leave a Reply

